Poets logo

Chained Melody

Echoes of Haunting Dreams

By DaphsamPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
6
Chained Melody
Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

My favorite broadway play was Phantom Of The Opera. My parents would collect posters of this dramatic and gothic musical. On any given day, you might find me belting out parts of this sone. I have wanted to write something that was an inspiration from the main song. Here is my Villanelle for it.

****

In dreams, a voice whispers, leaving echoes inside.

You belong to me, now and forever.

There is no farewell from me, my bride.

****

There is nowhere to hide.

Death would only be the sever.

In dreams, a voice whispers, leaving echoes inside.

****

My muse, I will not be denied.

Don’t turn your face away, tis a deadly endeavor.

There is no farewell from me, my bride.

****

Our stars of lust and love once did collide.

Was it he, who stole you from me, the man named Trevor?

In dreams, a voice whispers, leaving echoes inside.

****

A musky scent covering your body, was my guide.

The power over you, is my only lever.

There is no farewell from me, my bride.

****

Your lyrical voice is what I provide.

There is no escape from me, with whomever.

In dreams, a voice whispers, leaving echoes inside.

There is no farewell from me, my bride.

slam poetrysurreal poetryperformance poetrylove poemsheartbreak
6

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Handyman Henry4 months ago

    This is exceptional. One of my favorite Broadway shows. This sounds just like the phantom.

  • Mark Graham4 months ago

    I can see the Phantom singing this.

  • This was so hauntingly beautiful! Loved it so much!

  • Xine Segalas4 months ago

    Fantastic! Dad and Mom would have loved this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.