Poets logo

Catharsis

My pen

By Jessie WylderPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
13

My pen doesn't dip in vials of comfort

It only speaks of war and chaos

Black and thick was made the ink

To interrupt the hazy white

To return to my innocence pink

~

Paper is the skin

Soul out of ink

Black on virgin white

Pure delight

Mallow and cream

~

Emotions untangled

into orderly bow

Charmingly the stitches

they now bestow

Enclosing potions

Antidote to poisons

~

Once laid and formed the words

Old scar becomes the dried ink

Conjured and banished the demons within

Cleansed and blessed rests the soul

Dove pure and freed birds

~

Weapons down

My pen bled enough

I sigh the smoke

Warm breath under scarf

Eyes closed under soft fleece

Solace. Serenity. Peace

~

Our book got burnt

From ash my rebirth

Dusted on the shelf

In my old binding

I find my true self

Torn and half as it is

Perfectly it fits

Memoir in my heart's bookcase

Perfectly as I used to fit

in your warm embrace

**********************************************************************

⚜ Comfort in writing as my way to return to my old self, as I knew me before loss and grief.

⚜ Pictures are selected and combined in a collage to capture the aesthetic imagery and symbolism of the poem.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for reading and supporting my work!

-> If you enjoyed my writing, please like clicking on the ♡ on the top or bottom of the page and comment your thoughts. Click on my name for more poems and stories.

-> If you enjoyed this piece, you may enjoy this one too (click link in title below) ->

Persephone's Cradle

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

sad poetry
13

About the Creator

Jessie Wylder

Writing has been my safe place, my antidote to grief, my love language, my psychonaut trips.

I'll give you what we all need; a hand, a shoulder, an empty page to sign your existence.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Filippos Tax2 years ago

    I have no words.Your writing is so deep and beautiful.

  • Jim matthews2 years ago

    Amazing, you've Masterfully described the creative process.

  • A Chourchouli 2 years ago

    ❤️

  • Breathtaking. Well done. The art is stunning also <3

  • Mar Mant2 years ago

    So good poem! Congratulations!!

  • Amazing writing!! Looking forward to reading more!!

  • Ashley P2 years ago

    Beautiful way to describe the essence of writing ''Emotions untangled into orderly bow Charmingly the stitches they now bestow Enclosing potions Antidote to poisons''

  • So beautiful you're finding solace in writing!

  • Beautiful piece!

  • ELENI PANOU2 years ago

    You have a way with words and words have a way to help you heal.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Loved this, great imagery! Related a lot to those first 2 lines, happy writing is a challenge 😂

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.