Poets logo

Catching Clouds

Form in fantasy

By Donnalisa MadrigalPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
Do You See an Elephant, Heart, Triangle, and Genie Escaping a Lamp?

Daydreaming grounded in a verdant patch,

In the expanse above

Shapes wondrously form:

Triangles, elephants, gumdrops, pies,

Ravens, bear-paws, umbrellas, trees,

Angels, dragons, whales, ants.

Clouds silently guided by purposeful winds

To remind someone to smile

In a distant place.

Over the rooftops, my eyes go chasing.

Ne’er a care in my reverie.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Donnalisa Madrigal

There are seven of us now: Me, my husband, my daughter, my two sons, a daughter-in-law and my dog Raider! But I still carve out the time to complete puzzles, read about myths, psychology, and spirituality, dream, and stare at the stars.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donnalisa Madrigal (Author)11 months ago

    This “distraction” is not only an entry to the acrostic poem contest but is close to my heart as well. A couple of years ago, my husband confided he couldn’t see pictures in the clouds anymore. It wounded me as his wife, his partner in life, of over a quarter of a century. He was confessing something deeper. The little boy, only I am allowed to see, was overshadowed by worry. As I bombarded him with care, I silently vowed to myself I would never, could never, let the clouds go by without recognition. Give me the sky and let me dream. Enjoy. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.