Poets logo

Case in Point:

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Case in Point:
Photo by Federico Enni on Unsplash

Distance between us is like two counterpoints

Connected in bewildering ways

In a sophisticated world, we are like red stars protected universally

Dwarfed by our limitations, one has a point there

My father is like an atlas

He’s protective as a roll cage

I, studious like bound leather, worn as oneself to a shadow

Tracing tiny lines with my smudged fingerprints, on tempered glass

tracing back to my rebellious adolescence, like a point of depature

My heart sore like a point indecently boys broke me,

right down the middle like breaking up a journey

I couldn’t pull myself back together like Roxane Gray

My mind sloshing back and forth like half-empty buckets of water

I love to stare into space, just don’t touch the car windows

all my mistakes, a mind fog breaks ones’ fall

Endless, exploration, equivocal

Someone's point is well taken

Shockingly words defy logic like a sticking point

In the words of Gray, “I don’t say the words I love you often, not to anyone”

Memories faded like my denim jeans

Mind blank as an exposed polaroid,and wide as the Grand Canyon

By Liane Metzler on Unsplash

My father stays smiling like gravity keeps me standing

Purposefully my father is civil as an engineer

Concreted in my muscle memory is his strength,

holding our world together-

Infrastructure, Inexplainable, Ingratitude

Could we close the distance between our counterpoints like an intersection?

I ask my father point-blank

heartbreakinspirationalsad poetrysurreal poetrynature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.