Poets logo

Carousel Girl

Strap me in

By Colleen WaltersPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
4
Carousel Girl
Photo by blueberry Maki on Unsplash

This roller coaster

Took me high

Enough to see

The curve of the earth.

I touched the stars

Kissed the moon

And high- fived

The sun.

Then the descent

Unexpectedly came,

Like an avalanche

Roaring through

My very soul

Pounding me down

into the ground

Far below

the surface.

I knew if

I could just

claw my way

Back to

The surface

I’d be okay.

So I did.

I’m seriously

Amazed at

How many G’s

I can pull

And not pass out.

I’m like

A superwoman

Sometimes

And then I rain

Filling more

Bottles

My eyes a pretty

Shade of red

Tears

Are healing

And you can’t

Grow the

Most beautiful

Butterfly garden

Without rain

I heard

His voice

Yesterday morning

when I woke up.

I was thinking of

A situation

That I’m

grappling with

And in response

He said “ yes, but

It’s temporary

And your love

Is greater than.”

He gave me

A love that

Is greater than.

I see your fears

And worries

And raise them

For

A love

greater than…

love poemsheartbreakFriendshipFree Verse
4

About the Creator

Colleen Walters

i’m just a girl in Florida who likes to write things, inspired by events and people in my life..

When I grow up, I want to be a kid again.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 16 days ago

    This was so awesome to read!! Beautiful poem!😊

  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    Yeah, be OK. No more roller coaster ride to love. Slow and steady and calm, pick the boring carousel for a safe ride to long love.

  • Rowan Finley 16 days ago

    Wow, there’s a lot to unpack here. This one appears to have some really profound intensity.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.