Poets logo

Carnival Masks

Poetry set to music about masking

By CorwynnaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Put another person on my face again

find the edges of the mask so I can pretend

there's nothing different between what I do

and who I am

listen to the people who they mean so well

like their tips and tricks will help me navigate through hell

I'm sure they want to help

in their own way

I've got an answer for the ticket that you're waving in my face

and it's, "I don't wanna go."

The ride that you're scalping never was gonna get me out this place

so I

I don't wanna go.

I'm not standing in another endless line

I'll just wait right here 'til I run out the time

Let the iron curtains fall down

down

I sure won't be sticking around

'round

Maybe the gates are up now

but I will find a way out

out

Put another person on my face again

Find the edges of the mask so I can pretend

There's no difference between what I do and who I am

Put another person on my face again

You'll never see me if you're looking in my eyes

Not everybody's suited for the carnival

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    The song was so creepy, love the lyrics!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.