Poets logo

Careen

You upturned me.

By Jessica N. W.Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Careen
Photo by Alexandru Acea on Unsplash

My eyes anchor to you

Wind snatched from my lungs

You become my compass and sextant

As my heart jolts, floundering like flotsam

Shaking in my solar plexus

This is a visceral voyage that predates speech

Making thought a luxury

The love god's arrows have no mercy

Indiscriminate and painfully faithful

It took one bolt to take root

Now a fever garden blooms in my belly

Butterflies frolic there

Restless and desperate

Before this, I was an empty house

Harboring a wounded, scarred heart

My mortar sighed

My walls ached

My windows wept

And the floor of my soul was cold

Curl inside me like ivy

I’ll let you through the plaster

Creep in further

I don’t mind

If it brings you to me faster

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jessica N. W.

A slave to the humanities: art, music, literature, film, philosophy, psychology, etc. I make things. I have one child: a hedgehog named Zander. He likes to sleep. I don't blame him.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.