Poets logo

Cancer

Diagnosed in 2023, the perfect chance to attempt a Reverse Poem

By Linda BromleyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Inverse Challenge
7

I’m gonna die

I refuse to believe, that

To be diagnosed with cancer

People are saying it’s no death sentence;

I live on that hope

However,

I can’t breathe from the shock

I’m glad my friend is here because

I need all the support I can get and

I wonder how much more I can take.

More metastasised tumours

Creates

Stress,

I highly doubt

I’ve gotten off lightly because

Treatment sucks but

The nurses make it easier as

I feel sick all the time and

You can try to convince me that

This is God’s plan and

He has my back so

I’m to trust that

I can rejoice in everything while

My world feels so dark even so,

But

They say it happens for a reason

and

I will use this to help others,

At the end of the day,

When I’m in the shadows, there

I want to reach out

Despite knowing its foolish to think that

I will survive

(Now read it from the bottom upwards, line after line)

heartbreak
7

About the Creator

Linda Bromley

Just one of many creative outlets for me has been books! My whole life I’ve loved them and it’s so easy to make the jump to writing.

Recently I completed a poetry challenge and now, looking for more excuses to write, I’ve found myself here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor16 days ago

    I hope the treatment is going well Linda🤗 Brave poem, and I like how it flips so well on key lines and words in the middle.

  • Teresa Renton2 months ago

    Beautiful and emotionally wrenching poem Linda. Congratulations! Sending love and good wishes to you xx

  • Amanda Starks2 months ago

    You are so, so brave for writing this and sharing this heartbreaking revelation with us. This poem was simple and yet it punched straight into my heart with your open and honest writing style. This was very deserving of a placement in this contest. Congrats on your win, and know that you are not alone on this journey!! <3

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Gabriel Huizenga2 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this part of your story in such a beautifully crafted way. And congratulations on being recognized for it! :) I will be praying with you for healing, friend <3

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Wow! Really powerful inverse! Congrats and well deserved!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Very Well Done!!! Congratulations on the runner-up win!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.