Poets logo

Can You Taste A Rainbow?

The World Is A Groovy Lemon Pie

By Archbishop Alchemy Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Varied, gentle to vibrant: Dark blue, some royal purple, muted orange, pale pink ... The palate of a new day's dawn, morning breakfast nearly gone ~ Down to a well browned single sausage link

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Worn daily journal in hand, deep sage green, life's musings written in ink: Mostly black, some blue, scant red... Today's first thoughts in black, with a witty knack... "I would rather be back in bed"

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Summer sky still & clean: Opal blue... Dang, I cannot find my other shoe ~ Hope the black coffee kicks in, so much to do out in the din...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Brooklyn, New York: Noon lunch brownstone café stops... Lavender tea or two, I gave the chef her props ~ Midday summer sky now cobalt blue, I did find my other shoe

~ Back outside, the din comes alive, a sure siren call...come one, come all ~

Zig and then zag across NYC's boroughs: My trusty vintage yellow bike... A hello here a goodbye there, encountering raindrops without a care ~ No face alike

Gone is cobalt blue... Instead, a grey view

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mid-evening as the sun creeps back last task now done, just in time to see the setting sun: Molten red... The concrete jungle awash in lava, worthy of a toast with cava ~ It is so good to be out of bed

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dusk comes due... Sapphire blue

The day's last light, a rainbow born: The yellow seems extra bright... Breathe it in, the rainbow and the nighttime din ~ Daily journal out as I start to write

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The sun falls away: The sky Egyptian blue to squid ink black... NYC succumbs to the night, off to Coney Island with delight ~ My yellow bike back out of the rack

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Coney Island din has my mood: Electric blue... The carnival air envelopes like a velvet robe, skin colors of every nation seen in the neon strobe ~ The same as when this nation grew

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This carnival collective of souls all born unique: Diverse & colorful amazing ways... I was born of eclectic creative mind & artistic eye, I can taste colors I do decry ~ This talent of mine never ceases to amaze

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Shore road takes me home, cotton candy still in hand: Carnival pink... Statue of Liberty in the distance, colored penny brown to minted green in her existence ~ This world of colors for me to drink

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I do not just see colors: I feel, hear, smell & taste them... The world was once my oyster, but now a deeply hued gem ~ Atoms vibrate frantic unseen & unheard all around, yet I hear their sound

~ Routine talent of mine to truly embrace & appreciate the little things in life, oh how it helps to thwart off all of the strife ~

Enjoy the simplest of pleasures as if elegant grandeur:

Naked feet in warm grass, as if it was the most expensive velour

Backyard BBQ, the same as a trip to Peru

This is a talent I wish on to you...

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Archbishop Alchemy

I am an avid reader now dabbling in writing myself. I have had a blast writing here. Any hopeful entertainment or induced thought is a plus.

To get lost in a book is a grand adventure. Try and get lost copiously. Cheers from Wisconsin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.