Poets logo

Can we live without fooling?

The true story of "probably cars"

By GroguPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4

I am often judged for not being serious enough. It's true. Especially since the birth of my children, I have changed a lot. We played a lot, sang, listened to and watched stories, fooled around like most fathers do with their children.

I remember well when I was once toweling my child after bathing, a car passed by in front of our house, which could be heard through the window. My child asked. "Daddy, what was that?" I immediately replied that it was probably (a) car. The next day, after bathing, my child asked, "Dad, are we going to look out the window to see that "probably car"?

I laughed and said. Sure, we'll look at all the cars through the window. And from that day on, every evening after bathing, I put my child around my neck, sat in the window and watched the "probably cars" passing by on the road in front of our house.

Years passed, and observing those "probably cars" in the evening became a ritual, a family tradition. First with one child, then two, and finally three children, we sat in the window every winter evening and watched and counted how many "probably cars" were to pass by our house. They were not just simply cars, they were "probably cars"!

Children have grown, we no longer sit out the window on winter evenings and watch the cars that are to pass by our house. But sometimes we talk about it and laugh about it when we think back together to the times when we looked at and counted the "probably cars" together.

I think every family develops a habit that only the members of the family understand, because it has developed in the intimate relationship between them through so many foolish and cheerful games.

One of these habits in our family has become the observation of "probably cars". And more importantly, the time spent together in between. The kids never wanted to fall asleep, they didn't want to move from the window.

I am sure they will carry on this joy, and their children will learn about the true story of "probably cars".

Family
4

About the Creator

Grogu

My name is László. Father in private life, leader at work, with a few decades of life experience, but still doing mistakes. 🙂 Why I have chosen Grogu? Well I think we all have the will and power to do something good to others, like him.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)3 months ago

    It's beautiful. Love it! Thanks for sharing!

  • Anna 3 months ago

    I'm sure about that too🤗

  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Very nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.