Poets logo

Can this happen to someone like me?

A daydreamer collides with reality.

By Lenita LeiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Can this happen to someone like me?
Photo by Sean Odell on Unsplash

Nature’s perfume, wooden notes with florals dashing round’

Never had I been to the botanical gardens in town.

Something tugged, encouraging me to come.

Perhaps the chance to escape feeling numb.

Here I am, among the green leaves, warming by the sun.

It all fades in the glory of an internal beating drum.

I sense you there, in stride ever closer.

You stop, I stare, what a poser!

The sun has captured your form.

Silhouetted yet intense, my do I smell chloroform?

A figure such as yours,

Invigorating power within, almost to run on all fours.

How disturbingly beastly that would be,

So undignified, completely not me.

Yet these feelings reign in high.

If but to reach you, I surely must fly.

Your eyes meet with mine – a piercing gaze.

Do you feel disillusioned, in a spell, or simply lost in a maze?

The world surrounding quiets down.

Surely, we are within the midst of a ghost town?

Although it felt of jelly, my feet moved closer,

I see you are the operator of the bulldozer.

Here, to destroy or improve part of the garden?

I must convince you to consider a pardon!

Instinctively my hand touches your chest,

Dreaming more sensually, oh but we haven’t even addressed!

While shock and horror pull me to reality,

Your mouth touches mine, under the great birch tree.

Could this be real? Could this happen to someone like me?

Or am I yet again lost, as a mind drifted to sea?

My eyes cannot open anymore.

For once this is true – my heart begins to soar!

Those other girls, acquaintances and so.

Taught chit-chat as the strategy to capture a beau.

With my body pressed against his own.

I hope this lust affair will not be short-blown.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lenita Lei

Life is intense, as is suspense!

Tune in as words come to life through your imagination.

Fiction and Non-Fiction: Just let me write!

Australian-Finnish <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.