Poets logo

Can One Go Back In Time

Poem

By Jesse NoelPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Can one go back in time

To a place and time gone by

When innocence and youth

Were always on the mind

When all the troubles of today

Where yet unknown and far away

When body and mind were yet sublime

And not betrayed by time

Here I sit and muse today

I think of life gone by

And find that I am satisfied

With the how and the why

A full and happy life I've lived

Through the good times and the bad

Sorrows few and joys a plenty

Though old and frail I am not sad

So when my spirit slips away

I will not hold back nor complain

A smile upon my lips you'll see

And face new life without a plea

So fare thee well oh mortal man

And lay my lifeless form to rest

Dress me in my Sunday best

And fold my hands upon my breast.

J.W. Noel

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.