Poets logo

Can Anyone Hear Me?

The Power to be Heard

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
8
Can Anyone Hear Me?
Photo by Tobias Tullius on Unsplash

As I write my silent plea,

As I sit here, begging,

Can anyone hear me?

*

I need someone desperately

To let me know someone is seeing

As I write my silent plea.

*

Tell me, do you see

The person I am portraying?

Can anyone hear me

*

As my opinions flee

Out of my pen; my thoughts are racing

As I write my silent plea.

*

I need somewhere that I can be

Myself as I am writing—

Can anyone hear me?

*

The power to be heard could set me free,

Just to know that I am existing

As I write my silent plea—

Can anyone hear me?

Villanelle
8

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Bamimeke Moses2 months ago

    🤔🤔🤔🤔 touching

  • Test4 months ago

    There's a beauty in the way you've crafted these lines, expressing a universal sentiment that many might feel but struggle to put into words

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I think it's fundamental to so many if us, isn't it, to be witnessed.

  • This broke my heart so much! It was so poignant and emotional! Loved your Villanelle!

  • Yes... I heard you very clearly... in a villanelle, no less! Very effective!

  • Chloe Gilholy4 months ago

    wonderful I really liked the last stanza and the use of the word plea.

  • Test4 months ago

    Oh Stephanie felt this so much 🤍 Beautiful and so poignantly human 🤍

  • K. Kocheryan4 months ago

    I hear you! Nice villanelle! The constant question really makes the reader want to answer.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.