Poets logo

Calvin Crude

This poem is about a friend that passed away.

By Amanda ZylstraPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

What lies at the end of the rainbow?

The end of a lifetime?

Is there a light at the end of the tunnel?

Do we finally get that pot of gold we have had our eye on?

Do any of us see that train coming before it hits us?

Do your demons still remain?

You were 34 years old.

You didn't make it to 35.

And today is your birthday.

We meet so many people in this life but few have the heart of gold you had.

Few souls would give the shirt off their back to a friend in need.

I loved your in your face personality.

Your blunt honesty.

But most of all your love and compassion.

A punk rock exterior.

But you were a warm person with an amazing heart.

You were easy to open up to and trustworthy.

Non-judgemental, and fun to be around.

You had a great sense of humor and always made me laugh.

You were a good listener.

You truly cared about those around you.

You had your demons.

And I hope you finally have slain them in your last hours.

Only you could take that sword.

Only you could finally beat that addiction.

You always greeted me with a smile and a hug.

You never hated me, no matter who I was.

I met you when I was 19.

So much has changed since then.

And I may not see you around as much as I used to.

But I always enjoyed your company and the way you could light up any room with your presence.

I would run into you around town every few years.

You had great taste in movies and music.

You were a creative soul.

I wonder if you ever finished that biography you were writing about your life.

I know it comes from an honest place.

All I have is memories.

And those will live on forever.

You are still alive in my mind.

I may not have known you as well as some.

But I always liked you.

I remember when we first met laying on the sidewalk talking to you for hours.

Smoking cigarettes.

I always knew you had my back.

And I felt safer with you around.

You were a genuine person.

You stomped to your own beat.

You were true to yourself.

And everyone around you.

Everyone knows you in this town you are like a local celebrity.

You have a memorable personality and have touched the lives of many around you.

The city mourns you.

Calvin, you are in my thoughts today.

This feels unreal.

I miss the days when we hung out at Arco Iris and I saw you all the time.

That place was home to so many misfits from all over.

Yet we all clicked and that place was special.

I am going to miss seeing your band play and your intense stage presences.

I am going to miss you and hope you look down on me with a smile.

So many years have passed and although we went different directions in life I will never forget the days when we were on the same path, hanging out with the same group of people.

You always greet me with a smile and I am always happy to see you when our paths do cross.

Rust in Peace Calvin F Crude.

I know we can't live forever, but I feel this was too soon for you to leave.

Happy Birthday from the city and friends that you left behind!

You will never be forgotten and we will all mourn your passing.

Check out my Author Page on Facebook!

Check out my Poetry!

Check out my Music Articles!

Check out my Beauty Articles!

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Zylstra

Cat Lover, Poetry Writer, Tea Drinker, Skincare and Beauty Product Obsessed. Check out my poetry collection "Passing Skeletons" available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.