Poets logo

Calling your name

A poem about breaking free

By Brandi LansdownePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Calling your name
Photo by Yann Dos Santos on Unsplash

Welcome to the nightmare you created

Where the pain you have unleashed comes back around

I am no longer the angel you thought I was

But the demon that I have hid for so long

Where the consequences of your actions

Come alive in the darkness that you left me in

The caged beast came alive after starving in the dark

Hungry for more of your pain

There are lessons to be learned from the stones you casted

I wonder in the darkness finding my own light

Fighting for the very air I breathe

I found your secrets and have been bound to them without hesitation

I still haven’t confessed my crimes while I see yours ever so clearly

I have became a prisoner of your love and now I’m breaking free

From this cage that you once held the key too

I’m not going to lie but I quite enjoyed the pain you severed into my flesh

I wonder if you ever thought about me when you did it

I sought out a way to break free and now I saw the cracks

I don’t want to be here anymore and I don’t want to be with you

Finding the courage to find my own, finally got a plan

Now it’s the time to act and get to where I want to be without you

This is something I got to be doing on my own

I am no longer yours to claim as your prize

I found my freedom and I seek vengeance as I watch you burn

Burn in the ashes that you created

These are the ruins you created in your own mind

I have destroyed you with little action on my behalf

I watch from a distance and you have fallen from grace

Watch me as I fly off to a land you will never experience

A danger comes from within you and you can sense it

Embrace it as it is the demonic beast you created

It will keep you company as you sink deeper into yourself

As you hide from the darkness

The sins you have created will never surface

They will float in the waves of those deep oceans of your eyes

They can not keep me in your mind any longer

I have broken your spell

Gone through hell to get where I am now

I must thank you as you made me stronger and made me into a warrior

Made me into something that I thought I would never be

I’ll keep going while you suffer in the pain you hold

I found my peace with everything you made worse

Darkness lingers in every corner and you hide

Trying to find the light I consumed

I became one with the things that I could no longer hide

Demons are screaming from inside of the walls

Can you hear them calling your name?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Brandi Lansdowne

Podcast: blonde with a black streak

zazzle: hallowed Halloween

etsy: hallowed Halloween

twitch: thorin11233

instagram: gothie12

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.