Poets logo

Cafe Girl: Part 1

Poem Short Story

By Monee MyersPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Love is absent from my life,

I see more damage done from loving someone.

I see people get hurt,

more than I see people love.

I see lies being told,

than the truth being an option.

I see people's hearts being used as entertainment,

then I see people learning to love just one heart.

I see many relationships get screwed,

I can't be the only one who admires real love.

I just can't let love ruin me.

I don’t want to believe our generation finds love,

With a swipe right, or judge with a swipe left.

I need hope, that our generation won’t settle for less...

After reading the poem, Layla went off stage back to her table located in the back. The table was off to itself, surrounded by windows on each side. The sunlight came into the local café, hitting Layla’s sun-kissed skin. Every Tuesday afternoon, she came to the café to do homework and unwind. After three classes back-to-back, she needed to escape reality for a bit to let her brain rest. She will come every Tuesday at 2, for the amateur poetry readings. Some days she would read, other days she would let the words flowing in the air whisper in her ear sweet inspiration.

She got up to use the bathroom. As she moved in between tables, she caught the eye of a stranger. They watched her move gracefully through the room of people. The stranger wrote something down on a napkin, then left out of the café with a smile.

Layla returned to her table to see a folded napkin on her laptop. Confused, she opened the napkin while sitting. She read the note at least two times before letting the words sink in.

Dear Cafe girl,

Your beauty is a ray of sunlight and I can’t help but smile when I see you, can’t wait to hear you read your poetry again.

Sincerely,

A Friend

PS - You’re not the only one who admires real love.

The note made Layla smile from ear to ear, as she scanned the room to figure out who left the note. No one in particular caught her eye, but maybe she would find him next Tuesday.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Monee Myers

27

B.A. in Writing Studies, minor journalism

Writing is something I loved since I was in the 8th grade. I love to express myself in my writing.

I enjoy writing, and I hope you will find enjoyment in my writing as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.