Poets logo

By Sea

A poem of separation from love and home

By Issie AmeliaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
By Sea
Photo by David Billings on Unsplash

By Sea

Fickle futures, separated by sea

blocked by barricades; frustrated by sea.

Bunked helpers glisten under crescent moons,

raining over veils, created by sea

we star-gazed the Southern Cross, dulling dreams

of unity, we hurt hated by sea

Sliced earthly fissures, healed by honeyed hope

that I’ll return, dictated by sea.

Across bounded lines, sparkled tears steal nights

of loose luck kisses, we mated by sea.

Though wardens destroy lives, we won’t be broke

by their hardened shells … cut slated by sea.

Waves lap wildly, no sand grain picked twice.

Oh dear, my love, we lay awaited by sea.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is a poem inspired by my separation from my partner who’s in Melbourne, while I’m in the US. The Australian borders have been closed to students and partners, which is cruel. Melbourne is my home. This Ghazal fits its themes: it is part love poem and part loss of time shared with my partner, as well as missing my home. I made each line 10 syllables, except for the last line, which is slightly longer with 11 because I wanted it to seem like it echoes at the end.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you enjoyed this poem, be sure to check out some of my other poetry!

love poems
2

About the Creator

Issie Amelia

She has a Master in Creative Writing, Publishing and Editing from University of Melbourne, and Bachelor in Creative writing from George Washington University.

She currently teaches yoga, Pilates and boxing fitness in Melbourne, Australia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.