Poets logo

Butterfly

A Poem

By Katya ValenciaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

My life was shrouded in darkness;

The only color black.

I grew up without a likeness,

Always left behind in back.

I always knew I was different,

Not the same as you.

You saw me as abhorrent,

‘Cause only the same will do.

My life devoid of color,

The weapon in my hand.

In my face there was a hunger;

I wanted to find my band.

My struggle almost claimed me;

My life left incomplete.

The strength it took to be,

More than I had to compete.

Standing alone in the woods;

No one to hear my sounds.

I thought of all the good;

I’d never see around.

A sweet, soft butterfly,

Going his own way.

He stopped to say just, Hi;

And left there dismayed.

As I watched him go,

His wings so very bright.

I thought that I might know;

How to find my light.

I looked into my heart,

That’s where I found the key.

The power to love a start,

But it has to start with me.

I left the woods that day,

No longer seeing black.

I let myself love in my own way;

And I’m never going back!

My whole life now before me,

My heart so big and tall.

I want the world to see;

That love can conquer all!

But the love of which I speak,

The love that set me free;

It wasn’t anything for the weak,

It started within me.

My life is filled with color;

Full and bold and bright.

I walk with strength and valor;

I have the heart to fight.

I want to share with others,

The love I found in me.

Because we all are brothers;

And we’ve got to find our “we.”

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.