Poets logo

Butterfly Kisses

Life’s truest treasures

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
11

Carousels and wishing wells

Butterflies and daffodils

When little girls wore ponytails

and thought mom hung the moon

*

Sweet silly grins, giggles and smiles

Catching sunfish on summer-lines

filling jars with fireflies _

Oh how the time goes by too soon.

*

The - read me one more story_

please, but- do the voice this time.

Come on mom, and catch me

round the block, just one more time.

*

Oh how tired I was, but those kisses and hugs -

make me wish those days were still mine.

*

What a wonderful gift, just Being their mom.

Watching life beam, like the stars in their eyes

Weeks were long, nights were short,

but how fast the days flew - like the wind gently blowing on by.

*

Holding on to these thoughts makes me feel warm inside,

special memories of moments now past.

What I'd give to go back and relive one more day,

if we could make just one small moment last.

*

I’m proud they’re grown up,

doing things that they love.

Busy lives, making their way through life.

And we talk on the phone,

about things going on -

and they say when they can, they’ll stop by.

*

Its how it goes, minute to minute, day by day, year by year -

Growing up moving on, so they say.

Its a passage that each of us has to go through.

I wouldn’t trade even one single day-

*

For the wealth of the world,

there's nothing else I would do,

to replace what I have for, what if.

The grandest treasures in life, could never replace

hearing my kids saying mom, I love you.

love poems
11

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Emotional & heartwarming!!! Loving your love poem!😊💖💕

  • Awww this was just so sweet!

  • This one has the best rhythm. I can sing it as I read it.

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    I love this. You always have a way of bringing emotion out in the reader. This brought a tear to my eye- thinking about my daughter, who now has three daughters of her own.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.