Poets logo

Butterflies of Anticipation

Waiting for you...

By George Shannon FergusonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2022
14

BUTTERFLIES OF ANTICIPATION

Madam… to have crossed your path is truly a rarity

Honor… getting to know you because it was destiny

... I must say

In… a blissful way

Writing… to you have been profound and deep

Receiving… your emails have been a heavenly treat

Rich… is each letter

Anxious… as I anticipate another

Waiting… until we can talk without no limitation

Nervous… at the thought of the meeting of anticipation

Butterflies… In my stomach growing

Radiance… as the smile on my face showing

Breathing… heavily as I wait for her to appear

Heart… racing as I see her approach I sweat with fear

What… is that tapping?

Listen… is that wings flapping?

Butterflies… of anticipation I can feel them begin to fly

Paralyze… as I attempt to move my legs but they won’t comply

Numbness… my body feels lifeless

Mesmerized… her beauty is priceless

Interlock… as our eyes meet for the very first time

Entwine… as we speak for the very first time

One… moment of hesitation

Escaping… Butterflies of Anticipation

love poems
14

About the Creator

George Shannon Ferguson

Poetry is a wonderful medium for capturing the beauty of our everyday lives and sharing it with others. I strive to express my unique experiences through my writing and create a meaningful impact. Thank you for your time and attention.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Victoria Ramos2 years ago

    Breathe taking!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.