Poets logo

Butter Biscuits Diving Into Hot Milk

Alchemy in simple and small kitchens

By Anthi PsomiadouPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2
Photo by Shreyak Singh on Unsplash

---

If you could smell my thoughts,

every time that something puzzled me

you would definitely detect

my butter-biscuit-aroma effect.

..

On memory's hard disk - or rock - ,

engraved images of her

sitting with a cool smile,

soundless for a while.

..

Then, her steady, loving voice

filled the atmosphere with

an unconditional intention

to help my emotions' conversion.

..

"Let's talk about this

while drinking a cup of hot milk.

I have butter biscuits that can

dive into it and reveal a plan".

..

When half of the first biscuit

had completed its diving,

the atmosphere was transformed;

a safer environment was formed.

..

My inside followed intuitively

the new vibrations transmitted by

our sounds that were the reaction

to the senses that were in full action.

..

I felt safe enough to unfold the feelings

that an incident had caused me that day,

expressing them guilt-free, 

accepting, giving them space to be.

..

The pauses in between were

opportunities to taste and observe,

permitting silence to complete

a team of common heartbeat.

..

So, a plan did emerge,

born through a calm process.

Clarity can't be fertilized by rush;

it's blocked by the first reaction's trash.

..

I always knew that the outcome

wasn't a result of biscuits and milk,

but of the whole alchemical co-action;

a multi-pulsed interaction.

..

Dedicated to all the grandmothers that always have butter biscuits in a kitchen drawer, waiting to be mixed with hot milk and lots of understanding love.

I would like to be one of them …in thirty years.

..

..

If you swim in Instagram's ocean, you'll find me somewhere here, on a raft like the one Odysseus had.

♾️

Anthi Psomiadou - CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 International : Credit must be given to the creator/ Only noncommercial uses of the work are permitted/ No derivatives

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Anthi Psomiadou

Writing, Life coaching, Criminology, and more. But I simply do these, I am not these. I just am. I am what I am, at any given moment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great work!

  • Patrick M. Ohana7 months ago

    I never wanted to become a grandfather either. All these appellations only take away from one's potential freedom. We pride ourselves for being superior to other animals, when we basically act like them and are surely worse than all of them combined. A nice piece, nonetheless!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.