Poets logo

But Damn, those hot pants

Rare car, Mercedes-Benz 300 SLR Uhlenhaut Coupé

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
11
But Damn, those hot pants
Photo by Zoran Zonde Stojanovski on Unsplash

greased up, the hottest day of the summer

I was thinking why was this longitudinally-mounted 3.0-litre engine kicking on me—-

When I saw you in those hot pants

And my engine light came on,

I saw your blue moon, I was hypnotized

Like how two of the Mercedes-Benz 300 SLR Uhlenhaut Coupé were ever produced

And one has a red interior and

Mine is blue

Like you, you look blue

Blue like that one day I sat alone at that high school party waiting for my date to show up, and somehow I always knew she wasn’t going to show up

And so she never did

And I saw that papier-mâché decorated to look like a snowflake on the punch table, blue snowflakes for the winter formal

And I tore it into pieces,

And now you’re here, looking as rare as my car is, and those old tore up snowflakes,

And like me too,

And damn

I can’t fire off too soon, or else I’ll keep getting this kick back,

But you’re wearing those blue hot pants like they are in season

under this hot blistering summer sun,

Subdued, I feel sprinkled in a sort of rare form of blue divination

As you wink at me

And the car starts roaring thunder.

performance poetrylove poems
11

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Well done!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome!!! Loving it!!!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Damn. this was incredible! Loved it. Such sparse words, but such intricate and detailed storytelling. and I welcome all uses of the word "damn". Well done, Melissa!

  • Ella Valentineabout a year ago

    You have a new fan! 💞

  • Lori Meltonabout a year ago

    Perfection

  • Absolutely great fun with so many implied analogies , love it sis

  • Wowwww, this was soooo hot! Loved the emotions going on here! 🔥🔥🔥

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    I loved the prose and the ending line. 💕

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Really great! This felt so real, loved the perspective and the details you painted!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Damn that was straight fire!!! I loved the way you wove all of those elements together, the girl, the guy, the car, the pants, the colors, awesome :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.