Poets logo

Burning

away

By Allie BickertonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Burning
Photo by Yusuf Sabqi on Unsplash

Seeds of hot peppers

Are mild compared to your sly

Ego burning me

___________________________

I wrote this haiku about a former co-worker that over time, embedded themselves under my skin. I was seething with rage when I worked with them, but now that the dynamic between us is no longer, I linger on the memories and feel sad. I realize I wasn’t appreciated much by this person, and feel very misunderstood and rather invisible, with no hope of redemption. The suffocating egos I’ve experienced and endured throughout my career working as a cook is staggering. Not to say that gender plays a role in being ego driven, but it was mostly male egos that always seemed to end up hurting me the most. The food industry is dominated by males, so it makes sense.

If you related to this today, you might find something valuable in this poem:

Thank you for reading!

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Allie Bickerton

She / Her - Canada

I spent most of my life immersed in visual arts and I neglected my literacy.

Nurturing harboured emotions and poetic thoughts I’ve stashed within.

Thank you for being here! 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.