Poets logo

Burning Desire

"Set your life on fire; seek those who fan your flames." - Rumi

By TheSpinstressPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Burning Desire
Photo by Gaspar Uhas on Unsplash

Oh shadow maker

Blazing, crackling; teach me

to dance like you do.

Warming the dark air

That freezes my choking throat

Chasing winter out.

Unmelting the tears

Clinging to my dry cheeks,

Letting them slide off.

Beat me a rhythm

Under my feet; let me burn

A hole in my world.

By Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

You could make an argument that fire is the least essential of the elements; you could claim you don't really need it. But I say a little (metaphorical) destruction is occasionally essential.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

I teach English, watch Bollywood, learn Hindi, herd cats, and don't buy new clothes. Follow me on the Spinstress for sarcasm and snacks; MovieJaadoo for Hindi film. :)

http://thespinstressblog.wordpress.com/

https://moviejaadoo.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Oh I'm totally with you on this one! Awesome poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.