Poets logo

Burn the Past

The Only Way to Move Forward

By Bradley RamseyPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3
Burn the Past
Photo by Dave Hoefler on Unsplash

I tried to build something that would last,

But the die had already been cast,

In hubris, I sought to challenge fate,

And in doing so did my future create.

*

Work harder each day, I told myself,

Enough effort will breed infinite wealth,

A love flourishing like the times of old,

The story’s end, reframed and retold.

*

I sought to revive a love long dead,

Realization filling my soul with dread,

Tending to a garden full of decay and rot,

A bleeding wound that would never clot.

*

There’s only one path forward now,

A single way to right my ship’s bow,

I must burn the past and close this book,

Release my soul from regret’s icy hook.

*

Start from scratch with an empty heart,

Eyes focused, feet steady as I depart,

Become friends with loneliness and pain,

Face the shadows lurking in my brain.

*

I wish I could forget your face,

Erase my failure, leave not a trace,

But growth blossoms from strife,

Such is the way of this lonely life.

*

The flames dance in my eyes,

A decade of lows and euphoric highs,

Crashing down and turned to ash,

Blink, and it’s gone in a flash.

*

What comes next is uncertainty,

I will try to face the future cheerfully,

Some good days, others bad,

Infinite possibilities to be had.

sad poetryheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Bradley Ramsey

Lover of dogs, gaming, and long walks on the beach. Content Marketing Manager by day, aspiring writer by night. Long time ghostwriter, finally stepping into the light. Alone, we cannot change this world, but we can create better ones.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so poignant and emotional! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.