Poets logo

Burn

Poetry From a Broken Heart

By Aaren MurphyPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
<a href="https://www.freepik.com/free-photo/flame-circle_946208.htm">Designed by Freepik</a>

Your smile haunts my dreams

Your laugh makes me scream

Fingers dangle to graze my cheek

I need to look, just one peek

Flames you're afraid of that's what I'll use

Leave no evidence and no one will acuse

I'll burn your insides, burn your out

The seconds 'till you die is all I'll have to count

Broken time begins to fall and resist

While fear and pain float around like mist

Heads bow for hearts to pray

Waiting for another to lead such strays

Confusing words are spread all around

Beautiful waves of mercy cling to the ground

Hands clasp together for fear of running away

Knowing that cold hearts are nothing but molded from clay

Your smile widens, you think I'll fail

You'll be surprised when I show you Hell

You left me broken, I'll leave you in pain

Living forever without and nothing to regain

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Aaren Murphy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.