Poets logo

Brown

Color of my truth

By Sumia KhamissPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Brown
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Let’s give a toast to the color brown,

The color that grounds me when I need to come back to Earth,

The taste of semi-sweet, dark chocolate with caramel toffee,

Bring me to resilient elegance,

The complex taste when the meal has had its time to brown,

My brown skin cocoa buttered down,

Bronzed lip gloss,

Lace up my terracotta leather boots,

Acoustic guitar providing the music for satisfying songs,

Wooden furniture giving the body comfort,

Fresh, sweet fruit grown from the dark fertile soil,

The stability of brown is how I gain my strength,

I give thanks to the brown for feeding life on this Earth,

Oxygen for the elders and the young to breathe,

My roots, my youth, my future.

My roots, my youth, my truth.

inspirational

About the Creator

Sumia Khamiss

Hey everybody! I hope all is well. My name is Sumia (Sue-me-ah.) I’m a Spiritual reader/Astrologer. I love poetry because it promotes genuine self expression & healing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sumia KhamissWritten by Sumia Khamiss

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.