Poets logo

Brown Crayons

Crowned Brown

By Nacole TottenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo Credit: Jennifer Blazis

I am a bright red pencil, outlining the lips.

A satin yellow dress, hugging the hips.

I am a lace purple bra, hanging off the shoulder.

I am black, and I am blue, a process of getting older.

I am the whites of the eyes, and the yellow of light.

The clear of truth, and the color of night.

I am orange, in various hues.

I am a rainbow of songs, in particular the blues.

I am black coffee, strong and needed.

I'm a tint of class, the shade of undefeated.

I am the complexion of cinnamon, and the beauty of nude.

I am a hint of jealousy, color changing with the mood.

I am the flush of anger, and glow of calm.

The bronze of the skin, and the pink of the palm.

I am, they are, we are Brown Crayons.

They were, I was, we were, Crowned with Brown.

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Nacole Totten

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.