Poets logo

Brother

On conflict, war, and relationships.

By ApogeePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo Credit: Kat Smith from Pexels

Brother, how did this happen – how came this tragic strife to be -

this conflict and tragedy almost too awful to comprehend?

Are our mothers not the same, in their love for you and for me?

/

Why do we spit such hateful bile, or show ill will to such degree?

If only you would take to heart and to hand the branch I extend,

brother, how did this happen – how came this tragic strife to be?

/

Ruins of trust and friendship scattered as rubble and debris,

surely the anguish contained by my heart cannot be penned.

Are our mothers not the same, in their love for you and me?

/

How can we ignore this carnage that is so terrible to see?

If only we could make peace, setting aside the need to contend.

Brother, how did this happen – how came this tragic strife to be?

/

We were so close once, But now we cannot help but disagree.

All that savage, unadulterated rage from an old friend -

are our mothers not the same, in their love for you and me?

/

I hope someday we can come to a place where we can agree,

set all our disagreements behind, rise above, and start to mend.

Brother, how did this happen – how came this tragic strife to be?

Are our mothers not the same, in their love for you and me?

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Apogee

Thanks for checking out my bio! What can I say? If you have read some of my work, I hope you liked it. Likewise, I relish the opportunity to discover some of the beautiful work done by my fellow writers. You guys are awesome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.