Poets logo

Brother

I have not forgotten

By Jesse G. Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The pale moon swells and I stare into its unfeeling grey glow

Brother I know it plagues you so

Brother I know the sun shines light on all that denies you

I’ve seen you hide away and give up and everyday it tears at my very soul

So beaten and bruised and lacerations that lay you bare

Open and bleeding staring up at the ceiling looking up at its popcorned texture

for reasons to heal or reasons to care

I know you aren’t here near me

But I hear your tears as they fall to the floor below

And I know …

I know brother…

what hurts you within

How Its plagued over and over again

The same sorrow I feel is not too dissimilar to yours

The same sorrow of longing

A longing for home

Sometimes I imagine it but none of our loved ones are there

And somehow In the silence we both sit a we stare

At a old technicolor television tube

My arm over your shoulder just watching cartoons

No screaming or fighting no denial of you

We finally find our home under the pale senseless moon

Til we meet again you’ll always be my best friend

Even when you burnt all your bridges

And dug your deepest hole

And laid down to die in it

Because in its deep and dark labyrinth

You’ve forgotten which way to go….

I promise I’ll find you in life or in death

I’m sorry you feel denied as I do and it’s shortened your breath

It’s forked your tongue and rip your cerebellum into

Just as it has for me it’s has in many ways worse for you

But I know you can find redemption I can find it too

We both can find happiness and escape this hell

we were born non consensually into

Because I remember the day

When we dreamed and we laughed and I tucked you in bed just after a bath

And read a story “ my big brother and me”

The last time I remember seeing you peacefully sleep.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jesse G.

I come here to write

When I Find that I am broken

Words while they rhyme

Are better left unspoken

I’ve held them within

And they rip me open

Spill out on the page

My rage my sadness

My truth in poems

Let’s read them together

Together broken

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.