Poets logo

Brother

In Memory of All

By Heather HollandPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
My brother at my wedding - 08/19/2006

May 21, 2021, marked 13 years since the passing of my younger brother. People like to pretend that time heals all wounds. But for those who are beginning their passage through grief following the loss of a loved one, I would like to offer the words of the chorus below because they are truer than anyone is willing to admit. Sometimes remembering the deceased will feel like reopening a painful wound. At other times it will be a welcomed comfort. I have found that learning to accept both scenarios is the only way to move through my own grief.

Poetry has been an incredible emotional outlet for me over the years, even before my brother’s death. I think of songwriting particularly as a way of releasing whatever is on my mind. Whether it is grief, anger, joy, or excitement, I can let it go in a song and not hold onto it. If I give it away it no longer belongs entirely to me. It belongs to everyone, and that makes the weight of things much easier to bare.

Brother

V1:

Take me to the ocean

I want to be buried in

The deep end of the tide

Where ships on the horizon

Sail into forever

Beneath an early morning sky

Waves crash around me

Rolling back to the shore

Pull me down in the undertow

And it don’t mean anything

Else except I’m not ever

Coming back home

Chorus:

You’ll see me in the faces

Of my long forgotten friends

I’ll be speaking a language

You can’t understand

I’ll be hidden in places

Where you’ve never been

But my ghost will sneak up on you

Again and again and again

V2:

Walk with me under stars

In the dark of the night

Where reality fades into grey

And lift up your eyes to see

Me staring back in your

Faint dreams of yesterday

Haunted street corners

And breezes that blow from

A past that’s never quite done

Keep your heart in a flutter

Returning to questions of

Where has he gone

Chorus:

You’ll see me in the faces

Of my long forgotten friends

I’ll be speaking a language

You can’t understand

I’ll be hidden in places

Where you’ve never been

But my ghost will sneak up on you

Again and again and again

Bridge:

Oh, the leaves are falling in the wind

Like the tears streaming down your face

Oh, don’t believe what they’re whispering

He’s never coming back to this place

Chorus:

But you’ll see me in the faces

Of my long forgotten friends

I’ll be speaking a language

You might understand

I’ll be hidden in places

Where you’ve never been

And my ghost will come back for you

Again and again and again

You can watch a rough recording of the music by following this invitation only link.

You can also find our father's reflection on grief in this blog post from Out Here Hope Remains.

If you are missing someone you have lost, you are not alone.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Heather Holland

Heather Holland is the author of the short story "Dragonfly in Water." She also writes Simple Stories on Substack.com, and she is the main contributor to The Daily Rhyme - with Heather Holland and Special Guests.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧5 months ago

    Oh my! Those are powerful words, Heather. 😢 I lost my lifelong best friend, and even though it has been 14 years now, his absence in some ways is still just as raw today. I am so sorry for your loss. Your words and music are poignantly written, and your advice is spot on! Thank you for sharing. (The link to the blog did not work for me.)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.