Poets logo

Broken

The decline of the Archaic Canadians

By MoriaCavandishPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

I cannot live this life anymore,

Rushing and running and begging and pleading,

Trying to catch up to people who would sooner step on me then around me,

I am drowning but cannot keep my face over the water any longer,

It's so quiet and calm below the surface. No one is there to judge me,

To laugh at me and to make fun of my name,

Have you ever felt so tired you can’t take a breath?

This world is so full of anger, and hatred, no room for kindness or tolerance,

Tolerance is such a strange word, why must we tolerate one another?

Why not just allow others to live their lives, and in turn we live ours

Right and wrong are no longer a seperate issue,

When someone is crying or hurt it's the norm now to laugh and film it,

no one calls for help the olde anymore,

Our traditions and cultures are disappearing, as are the values and truths I held all my life.

Now I'm just an archaic crumbling broken Canadian with no value to the world,

With nowhere to go an no one to help me, because no one cares about the plight of the declinding Canadian, yes us Archaic Canadians,

Nor does the next generation care that they are trampling on what is good and important to us, it's why you have freedom of speech.

Our ancestors died for you, my grandfather's skull held together by his fellow soldier's dirty blood soaked hands, when a bomb went off in the trenches beside him.

What was he thinking as the chopper blades whirled and flew him to an uncertain safety, did he worry he would never see his children? His sweet wife?

He did this for you too, and why, so you can make fun of our grey hair and withered bodies? Now that we are of no use to you you hide us away, tell us to be quiet, not to speak, not to say certain things.. have we lost our rights because we are old?

I cannot live in a world like this, and I choose the emptiness of my home.

We broke our bodies and, our souls to keep you safe,

When you fel, we cried too, then we kissed your knees, and your bloody elbow with a smile. You loved us then, whorshiped us, how we miss even a small amount of that attention.

When there wasn't enough food for everyone but we made sure you ate.

And when someone wanted to hurt you, we shielded you with our very bodies, our minds.

We are broken and Archaic because we did what we had to to make sure your generations got what they needed, deserved and had the right to. In return we are silenced, put on medication and sent to facilities to die.

I have watched this world fall to ashes, and rebuild it self over and over, my soul weeps uncontrollably, as never a lesson was learned.

How doomed are we to repeat the same mistakes.

Oh Robin how you were right, please forgive us.

I wonder what the point was?

Each generation destroying the very being of the last,

I can't.

People scream when someone says black lives matter, how dare we not add white, or asian or native. Why can’t someone want better for their own race, seems perfectly fine to me.

Why can't we all turn and hug the person beside us, we all need it so much right now, and not worry about sickness, and prejudice and abuse.

I am heartbroken and can barely stand to watch as each race hates the other, killing and vandalizing, raping and hurting, and no matter how much I scream and say stop please, no one listens.

Everyone is so worried their opinion isnt being heard, so they yell and so does the next person and the next person until everyone is fighting and demanding something we all already have. Freedom. We just keep taking it away from others.

The last person deemed perfect, I recal was hung on a cross and sacrifieced, is it worth being perfect, or right?

I am watching a world becoming, where pedaphiles have a voice and rights over the children, men and woman they have raped and abused.

I am watching worlds kill one another over whose god is right,

I fall to my knees as this all swirls around in my head,

Oh yes I am so fucking broken,

It's no wonder I am insane,

I learned it from my environment.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

MoriaCavandish

Born and raised on the beautiful West Coast in British Columbia Canada

All stories, poems, erotica and works are the sole property of

Moria Cavandish 2004- 2023

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.