Poets logo

Broken Shoes

A poem about schooling

By Ethan WarcholPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Broken Shoes
Photo by Arwan Sutanto on Unsplash

I fell in love with innocent vitality,

My feet moved with musical breeze,

To the rhythm of wonder.

And now, my feet, grow tired,

Trying to fill square shoes.

I used to feel,

But now I wear.

Helpful the laces are,

Yet, my soul can barely bare.

The longing to change hope to action,

Hopefully the action still remains.

I want to beat down, crack open,

These unforgivable shoes,

But I still need them.

And so, I grip soles tighter,

While neglecting my own.

A part remembers when all there

Was, was . . . something.

But now, all to seek is the flicker.

I fell in love with innocent vitality,

Will my feet ever return to the wind?

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Ethan Warchol

I love science, art, and the curiosity found in-between.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.