Poets logo

Broken

Would you do it all over?

By Ember GrayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

One foot is always out the door

I've never known what it's like to commit fully.

Not since he did this to me.

Yes, I still think of myself as that girl

the one who was shattered by an unfaithful

Husband. Married and everything.

And he still did this to me.

Since then I don't trust anyone.

At least not completely.

I can't afford to

I was so absolutely broken when he left

there's still parts of me that are missing.

Still parts that are cracked.

I can't risk another crack.

I wish I could experience bliss again.

Giving your entire self to something.

Someone.

Living completely in the moment.

But I'll stay on the fence,

never too comfortable on either side.

Why put myself through that pain again?

Would I do it all over you asked?

Yes.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Ember Gray

Just a twentysomething Midwest girl with a story to tell.

Find me on Twitter at @embergray

Book featuring a collection of these poems and short stories coming out in August!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.