Poets logo

Broken Promises

A Poem

By Angel AdagioPublished 9 days ago 1 min read

The worst part? For once, I believed it was real.

I thought for a moment that I would be enough,

that the anxieties didn't need to exist with us,

and there was the small part of me that can learn to trust,

but you never wanted me.

The vices are what make you happy.

As bits and pieces of me are removed from you,

I am left alone with all the pain you put me through.

And maybe that was your plan all along,

to seek out the broken,

misguided,

misunderstood,

pretend to be a hero,

then throw them away when you don't feel like they belong.

What I once thought could last a lifetime,

took one moment to shatter all the time in my mind.

heartbreaksad poetry

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. Your support is much appreciated.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Fion 8 days ago

    Nicely written!

Angel AdagioWritten by Angel Adagio

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.