Poets logo

Broken Promise

Childhood crush promises to stone

By JaymaeVPublished 22 days ago 2 min read
Broken Promise
Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

In sun-kissed days of childhood's glee,

Our laughter echoed wild and free,

We chased each other, wild and bright,

In love's first whispers, our hearts took flight.

He promised me, with eyes so true,

To wait until senior high, to court me anew,

And I, with heart full of hope and light,

Believed his vow, and held on tight.

Years went by, and we grew old,

Our bond remained, though stories unfold,

Of friendships formed, and memories made,

Our love remained, though life was played.

But on that day, so full of cheer,

Our high school graduation drew near,

I wore my cap, and gown so fine,

And thought of him, with heart so divine.

As we celebrated, and our dreams took flight,

I searched for him, with all my might,

And then I saw, with heart so sore,

He stood beside a girl, forever more.

Her hand in his, her eyes so bright,

A smile so wide, a love so light,

I felt the sting, of a broken vow,

And my heart, with sorrow, began to woe.

I thought of all, the memories we shared,

The laughter, tears, and love we dared,

And how he broke, his promise so true,

And left me with, a heart that's blue.

But as I looked, at the girl by his side,

I saw the love, that he could not hide,

And though it hurt, to see him so free,

I knew that love, was meant to be.

I learned that day, that love can be,

A fleeting dream, or a reality,

And though it stung, to see him go,

I knew that I, would find my way to know.

For love is a journey, that we all must take,

And though it's hard, to let go and make,

The choice to move on, and find our way,

Is the only path, to a brighter day.

So I took a breath, and let go of the pain,

And focused on, the love that would remain,

For though he broke, his promise so true,

I knew that I, would find my love anew.

And as I walked, away from that day,

I felt the sun, shining in a new way,

I knew that I, would find my way,

And that love would come, in a brand new way.

For love is a journey, that we all must take,

And though it's hard, to let go and make,

The choice to move on, and find our way,

Is the only path, to a brighter day.

love poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

JaymaeV

The stories set behind the lines

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Manisha Dhalani21 days ago

    Sad!

JaymaeVWritten by JaymaeV

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.