Poets logo

Broken Mirror on the Wall

Comfort for the Broken Soul

By Annie Edwards Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Broken Mirror on the Wall
Photo by Erik Eastman on Unsplash

🪞I love this broken mirror.🪞

Sadly broken, but through the cracks, my reflection still stares back.

Ironically, I am broken as well, and the broken mirror is a beautifully artistic depiction of this.

The cracks create a distorted reflection of reality; one that can’t be avoided.

By definition, nothing can be in perfect condition if it is broken.

It may not be perfect, but the reflection in the broken mirror also depicts reality, nonetheless…

Perhaps I, also, perceive reality in a way that doesn’t accurately depict the details.

Parts of it have fallen through the cracks, and parts are merely hidden behind them…yet…they still exist…

As I stare at the slightly contorted image staring back at me,

I realized that it would have been contorted, nonetheless.

Perfection is an illusion; a mere mirage in the distance that is sought after by so many, it has become accepted as reality.

*Following the crowd is the easiest way to get lost.*

🪞I love this broken mirror.🪞

When one is looking at a shattered reflection, they must look with intent.

They must look a little harder.

They must see past the cracks, while simultaneously acknowledging their existence.

So instead of manifesting a “new and improved” version of myself, I manifest the older one…the one who wasn’t broken by society.

And as I do this,

I see past the imperfections, understanding that they are subjective to both my brokenness and that of the glass.

And for the first time in a while, I see how truly beautiful I am, past the realm of physical attributes.

🪞I love this broken mirror.🪞

inspirationallove poemsperformance poetrysocial commentary
3

About the Creator

Annie Edwards

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.