Poets logo

Broken, finally

Walking Toward Repair

By Dominique LewisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My destiny awaits

If my purpose depended on you, 

You would be a deity 

Sitting on your high horse 

In egoistical bliss 

Waiting for me to follow your command. 

And I-

-I would be lost 

In the chaotic sea of dreams 

That beckon my heart 

Leading me through the raw authenticity 

My whole being longs for. 

Animate creatures vocalizing and chanting 

The remnants of my calling 

As much as could be put into words. 

Each day

My memory can't help but fade 

Into the obscure darkness 

Of your insufficient aspirations 

Or lack thereof. 

Yearning was always in my nature, 

Ambition enclosed in the crevices of my vessels. 

These dreams were always mine 

And I don't know why, 

But I let you hold them 

In your crippling hands 

Always attempting to mold me

Into something that I am not; 

Your muse, glory, strange desire. 

My being refuses your mold. 

My mind doesn't fit your framework; 

Nor do I seek or delight in man's favor.

But you're not losing your grip,

And you don't even know why. 

While my heart grows weary,

From lost and abandoned dreams,

Your hands become stronger. 

Choking the life,

Stealing the color,

From every dream you held,

That was never yours to hold. 

I've come to terms with my worth

And now

My heart is fighting back,

With the spirit of might,

To loosen your hold, 

Until my dreams

Finally

Breakthrough

And return to its origin, 

Awakened and free. 

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.