Poets logo

Broken Code

The life of a robot with a broken code in modern society.

By Lizzy RosePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Broken Code
Photo by Alexander Sinn on Unsplash

“I am not a robot”,

I cry after another day

of trying to prove it

to everyone around me.

In the back of my mind,

I know this is a reassurance.

Who would want to be nothing more

than a copy and pasted

generic line of code?

“Me”, whispers the back of my mind.

The part of me that wishes to be like them.

The part of me that is tired

of having to choose between myself

and who the world expects me to be.

I was programmed to love stuffed animals,

because how else can I own a dinosaur?!

I was programmed to love cartoons,

because sometimes they understand

the things I needed people to understand

when I was their target audience.

I was programmed to love people,

no limits involved.

I was programmed for a life without limits,

because I was programmed with open eyes.

Life. Is. Magic.

It is a beautiful thing,

I am a beautiful thing,

Living a beautiful experience.

“I am not a robot”, I whisper

After many years

Of trying to prove it to myself.

I am more.

I am power,

I am magnificence,

I am kind, warm.

I am evolved.

My programming is not flawed,

my code not broken.

It is not limited,

but infinite.

I am infinite.

social commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Lizzy Rose

Hello! I'm Lizzy, a poet and fiction/fantasy writer. I've been creating fiction since I was a child, making up and acting out stories. I started writing my stories when I was 9, and poetry when I was 11!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.