Poets logo

Breaking White

Strange, Memorable Vision

By Rowan Finley Published 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

They broke the white so hard that

out came the blackest color seen or known to man.

It was like the worst version of writers block, the shock,

exploding into the darkest galaxy loaded with the most brilliant of stars and orbiting planets.

It was more beautiful than anything I can attempt to describe...

How had this been so close, within reaching distance even?

I had lived life all this time,

all these years so blinded and jaded. And now…

the veil had been torn, new life was born.

It was gone, completely gone,

just in an instant.

In the blink of an eye and everything just changed...

All things that mattered so much before faded into nothingness

and now life meant more, felt unbelievable.

Instead of just five senses, I now had over one hundred,

all pulsing, radiating new life all throughout my veins!

The colors my eyes gazed on mixed and grew,

flipped sideways and did cartwheels.

These colors were never dreamed of by even the greatest of painters.

My ears heard the largest orchestra playing

the most fantastic music.

The low notes shook the whole atmosphere

and the high notes made all the colors swirl faster and faster

like a flying merry-go-round.

The air was not only breathed in, but it was tasted and drank

like water from a fountain.

Then once I was so full I could not help but belch up a geyser of life

from the depths of my soul.

Just simply existing brought nourishment and energy to my body.

My body had been utterly transformed, muscles stronger,

bones far more flexible.

I could not contain myself,

bouncing and springing from place to place.

The overwhelming joy in my heart propelled me

like a jet through time,

except for time had ceased to exist altogether.

The others who had been there longer than I

were just as light and excitable in nature.

There were no dance moves un-danced here.

The word

was on the streets like never before,

all eyes followed along the brilliantly colored paths.

Then it started raining lightning,

although this lightning brought jolts of peace and gratitude

which caused there to be these soft pops like fireworks all over.

The fireworks were like showers,

bathing my body,

and they kissed my lips.

All these sights and sounds made me wish that everyone could be here.

The word

moved in me like it never had before,

speaking so boldly and clearly.

All the while my heart was constantly melting

and being molded back together time again and again.

Ring, ring, ring…

Ring, ring, ring…

My eyes flickered open wide,

the dream was over.

Meanwhile, time and people were ticking away…

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.