Poets logo

Breakfast for Dinner

One for the Shift Working Parents

By Matthew FrommPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
8

Wheat toast and butter

Simplicity incarnate

Yeoman’s delight

The dairy farmer

Harkens the tasteful wonders

Of eggs and fresh cheese

A small dash of salt

Blended with crushed black pepper

Spices that built empires

Early morning dishes

Now called into action for

Desperate dinners

“My Favorite Treat!”

…Of my parents' exhaustion

I would never know

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N

Took me becoming an adult to realize how exhausting life is, and how somedays you don't have it. Those days call for breakfast for dinner, and I never once minded.

If you've enjoyed this, please leave a like and an insight below. If you really enjoyed this, tips to fuel my coffee addiction are always appreciated. All formatting is designed for desktops. All my works can be found below:

Stream of ConsciousnessSenryulove poemsinspirationalHaikuGratitudeFamily
8

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to write it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wishing to be found.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    I love breakfast for dinner!! My kids love it too :) Such a great and wonderfully nostalgic entry.

  • Lucky you, I was still a kid when I discovered that life is exhausting, lol. Jokes aside, I loveeeeee breakfast for dinner! Awesome poem!

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Wonderful treat to get breakfast for dinner!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Mmm! It all sounds good and im with ya! I can eat pancakes or waffles any time of the day, lol.

  • D. J. Reddall2 months ago

    A skillful blend of humility and proud homage!

  • Cyrus2 months ago

    So good I can almost taste it!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Well done. This gives me warm vibes. I even said the word vibes there. lol. The picture sold me and then your lovely words, pal! Well done.

  • Kelsey Clarey2 months ago

    Breakfast for dinner is definitely a necessity some days!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    My mum used to do "choosing tea" - there would be just a random selection of stuff on a plate - cheese and crackers, a mini sausage roll, a cup cake, a yoghurt, carrot sticks, grapes, raisins, just a random collection of bits and pieces. I tried to give my kids choosing tea and they were not impressed!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.