Poets logo

Brain Fog

Poem

By SusieSquirrel Moon GazerPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by tertia van rensburg on Unsplash

Oh

Hello

It's you again is it?

I didn't ask for you to come, much less request your presence.

I should have expected you though, you're never too far away.

Always lurking in the background, ready for an opportunity

to descend like the thick, greasy fog you are.

So now you're back again you may as well make yourself at home

just like you always do.

As usual I have no say in the matter

You always do exactly as you please with no regard for me.

So as usual I may as well resign myself to the fact that you're

going to be sticking around for a bit.

Could be a day, a week, a month, whatever suits you really

There's no point in trying to shake you off

Once you're through the door you stick like glue to me

No matter where I go you're there.

You're tenacious I'll give you that.

And when you're around, there's nothing I can do other than

to tolerate you.

You love to block the light out

And nothing pleases you more

than seeing me utterly flawed.

You suck the life from me and watch, detached as I

descend deeper and deeper into your lovingly crafted

pit of emptiness.

There is no light or joy, much less any respite

to be found down there.

Just dank, thick, cloying darkness that wraps its barbs around me

and pulls me further into its unforgiving catacombs.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

SusieSquirrel Moon Gazer

I'm a pescatarian cat herder, exploring the great tundra of the Universe. I like wine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.