Poets logo

Boy Brown

Island Boy

By Will CoronelPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Boy Brown
Photo by Jordan McQueen on Unsplash

“Brown boy” I was called

in a playground filled with brown skin.

Bakla! they yelled then pushed me

as my mouth swallowed dirt and grime.

I stood and walked away

looking macho and tough

like the leatherman from Village People

while the discordant voices of pre-pubescent boys

screeched behind me

“Brown boy” I was called

in an elementary school filled with brown skin.

"You hit like a girl!" Emerson yelled

as the tetherball hit my head.

My lips slammed on cement and grass

as I quickly stood up

trying to look mighty as the shirtless

and barrel chested Johnny Weissmuller.

Silently yelling like Tarzan, I hit the tetherball

and everyone laughed

“Brown boy,” I was called

in a middle school filled with brown skin.

"Why you no speak good English, bra?"

as they tripped me,

tasting milk and mac & cheese on the

filthy cafeteria floor.

I stood up, looking as strong as Big John Studd

with his long blonde mane and burly physique.

I picked up my lunch and walked away

listening to their

snickering

“Brown boy,” I was called

in a high school filled with brown skin.

"Watch out Ronson, Will’s a māhū!"

as my mouth slammed on rusty cold steel on locker 302.

I dated Catherine so that I looked

like a ladykiller like Tom Selleck

with his thick mustache and hairy chest.

And as I held Candy’s hand, I still heard them

laughing

“Brown boy,” I was called

in a university filled with brown skin.

I spoke and wrote like I did not sound

as my mouth tasted a woman’s various orifices.

I was seductive as Selleck, imposing as Studd,

mighty as Weismuller, and macho like Village.

Brown boy was I with my brown eyes

dilating at a mere sight of beard and chest hair.

I lowered my voice, varied my accents,

masking my Asian descent--

--I feel his pale, milky skin

as my hand explores his chest.

On his thick bicep I lie

as my mouth kisses his shoulder.

Staring at his silver goatee,

he mumbles about politics and guns

as I ignore his slurred speech.

Furious words against skin darker than mine

spew like bile as some warm spittle

land on my arm.

“White boy,” he calls me

and I smile.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Will Coronel

Loves horror and apocalyptic stories. Feeding the writing bug. Blogs @ digital-infopreneur.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.