Poets logo

Boxing

_

By Elsa Michaela | @surfthoughtPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1

I remember, me, a little girl

A helmet of curly hair

And one of a handful of happy memories that I have of him, ‘Dad’

My brothers at school

We were boxing

I’d listened to the guidance with a child’s intent and misunderstanding

Always block

I used to put the gloves on and walk around with them pressed against my face

Completely blind

Desperately wanting to be taken seriously

I was so excited to be stood on the bed

Almost as tall as him

The fight escalating

And then a nosebleed

I was excited

But it was over,

Girls get hurt,

He never boxed with me again.

I never boxed again.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Elsa Michaela | @surfthought

When you hear a song

One that stops you in your tracks

That seems spoken from your own mind

Do you listen and listen again?

Follow its streams until a tide,

Inside you

Rushes to fill in the small hollow parts

…Yeah, me too

INSTA - @surfthought

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    This was so poignant and emotional! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.