Poets logo

Born a slave

Born Connected

By LAKESHIA BRIMLEYPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Born connected

“How ? How can I flourish in a dying world ? Let me run let me hide . Cast away pushed to the side , and so I mask what I feel inside “ Born into the sins of those placed before me ! I long for mine own salvation . Mine own wealth and prosperity. These though , these feelings of longing saddens me so , so far from my reach . Because thine burdens already placed at my feet .

I can’t breath nothing or no one to believe in or me ! I am not who I am but who they’ve since programmed and progressed me to be . Land of the free ? Yet I am enslaved. Taught to think I don’t fit in and left alone. When my spirituality tells me I’m right where I belong and until this curse is broken here I shall stay . This is my home . Land where I was born free those before and before me . Too much to believe that those chosen ahead me has failed us all completely. Walking in the mind of the fairy I tell the tells of no lies . Reincarnated to change the way our worlds collide. My gifts are also my curses . Cause In this realm of the lost most people are soulless. Strength of the mind body and soul is the pinnacle of abundance and the ascension we are owed . For this world is dying and surely shall I not . For I am one with my creator connected to all and all that is not .

performance poetry

About the Creator

LAKESHIA BRIMLEY

Ask me what I believe in I’ll tell you it’s beyond eyes limit to see . Show me a rose and I’ll tell you about the hidden concrete . I am a beacon of light for the world to see . So giving you just a small description would not justify me .

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LAKESHIA BRIMLEYWritten by LAKESHIA BRIMLEY

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.