Poets logo

Blueprints of You

Crumbs You Left Behind

By Sharlene AlbaPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

Exhaustion settles into my hollow bones, right before I remember how your coffee colored eyes changed hues whenever you looked at me, forming imperfect shades of admiration, with sprinkles of hope and drops of desire.

Making me unstable to the point where I did not recognize my spirit, was the only way to make you see how rare I was. And that’s how I became the stone you’d never turn.

Bookmarked pages of you still ruffle against my resilient hands, just as I recall how sharp and lethal your lips and your words used to be on my skin and my heart.

Please know I did as you asked and cauterized the wound, just in time for your memory to tear at my tender flesh and paralyze my limbs from moving on without you.

Nothing made you smile more than to know I’m the only messy page in your favorite book you’d never burn.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sharlene Alba

Full of raw and unfiltered fluid poems, short stories and prompts on love, sex, relationships and life. I also review haircare, skincare and other beauty products. Instagram: grungefirepoetry MissBeautyBargain Facebook: grungefirepoetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.