Poets logo

Blue

The Darkest Deepest Shade

By Poppy Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
Blue
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

You were blue

The kind often considered grey

By people who never look close enough

The same people who didn’t

Notice the humour

Lightly tracing the

Edges of your seriousness

You were blue

The kind of colour

I have always wanted

To press to my skin

Like a balm, like a tattoo

You were blue

The darkest, deepest shade

The kind I have always

Wanted to drown in

People always think of

The sky’s vastness and

The ocean’s wildness but

I just think of the softness

Of your voice and the

Breathless colour

Of your presence

❀❀❀❀❀

P.S. Check out my writing prompt that I wrote this for!

love poems

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (17)

  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶9 months ago

    Mysterious!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Lovely. I will def write one.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is gorgeous!

  • My first thought here was of depression, but then it became something attractive, important, desirable. Then I thought of "Moonstruck" & how the employee feels about her tortured boss played by Nicholas Cage--not to mention how Cher's character is drawn to him even though she's engaged to his brother. At least in some cases the blues can be beautiful & desirable in something other than music. Whether or not you were speaking of sadness, that's where I've ended up in this, Poppy. If it's just the color of beauty, comfort, & deep attraction, my wife is there with you.

  • Oh wow, this was so lovely and wonderful! Loved your beautiful poem!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    This is truly beautiful, Poppy! Great, great poem.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Whew this was gorgeous poppy! 🎉 reminds me of the Halsey song colors!

  • Test9 months ago

    Stunningly beautiful! The last two lines literally took my breath away 🤍 And I just realised with some horror that I wasn't subscribed to you. Honestly I don't know how that happened :( I am so sorry! 🤍

  • Absolutely beautiful, Poppy!

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    I think this has vaulted my other favorite poems and remained suspended in the air at the top. Wow. And I know exactly what you mean, using the color like this. That first stanza…I have felt that same misinterpretation about someone. But the way you tie in blue to all of these feelings is just breathtaking. Your poetry is incredible, Poppy. 🤩❤️

  • If it's not too dramatic to say, your words drew a gasp. Breathless and effortless was the journey you created. Great job

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Wonderful!! Your last stanza took my breath away. Great work.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Stunning, just stunning, Poppy! Well done!

  • This is so delicate and beautiful, I really love it 🤍🕊️✨👌

  • Test9 months ago

    So beautiful. It reminds me of Joni Mitchell (and not just the blue part), so beautifully written.

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Wonderful poem 💙💙💙💙💙🩵🩵🩵🩵🩵🩵🤍🤍🤍🤍

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    Wow! Simply stunning.

Poppy  Written by Poppy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.