Poets logo

Blue Skies and Sandy Feet

Memories of Summers Gone By

By Craig WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

Those childhood mem’ries dancing through my mind

Bring ephemeral joy, back from the past,

From lost moments to which I would rewind,

People and places to my heart held fast.

With sandy feet washed clean by gentle waves,

Bright blue skies above, sun warming our skin.

Summer mem’ries to last us to our graves

And precious moments to lock tight within.

No tree today bears leaves so bright and green,

No grass so soft as upon which we played.

Would we surrender what our lives have seen

If only in childhood we could have stayed?

But no. The past, though sweet, is long since gone

And in our children, new joy will live on.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Craig Williams

I have always wanted to write, but I let myself be talked out of it for far too many years. Now, I am trying my hand at it again. If you see anything you like, a ❤️, a follow, or comment would let me know it's worth continuing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.