Poets logo

Blue

The Colour of My Soul

By Andrew HallPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Blue is the hue, the colour of the armour I clad myself in

Oxfords, blazers, match my eyes like the ocean

Vast in its being it connects the worlds old and new, depth darkens,

Life teems below, and yet above when it foams, tossing and rolling

They see the sea, its tranquillity or anger, it protects all

Life which thrives under and in its control down through its surface bare

Blue is the colour which I wear, every day, every piece

Of clothing I own, unknown to even me until I was told

I knew not why it was all that I owned, embarrassed at first sight

Now I keep, the colour that is me, in my heart and in my soul

Blue is me, for I never can be what I am, the depths I have

Past the surface, none ever want to know, for when they discover

The depths of the sea, all recoil at the unknown, but some few

Have peered into the deep and those few, those very ones, who ventured

Have dived into the deeps, through the light to the dark depths of below

Have known the sea for all it is, the shades of blue it does hold close

But as the sea can neither control its depths, it as well trusts and

Like it, one can never know who will love it when they go below.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.