Poets logo

Bloody Murder

"There's a blackbird perched outside my window...he sees all my sins, he reads my soul" - The White Buffalo

By Ava Myers Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
photo by Colleen Wilson

Last night in my dreams I finally

Took a step off the box that held my weight

And then I weighed nothing because I

Was falling farther

Than I had ever fallen before

And when I landed, I broke every bone

That you had put back together for me,

I laid in a pool of my own blood and

Screamed bloody murder at the thought

Of being alive and alone for another day.

Desperate for it all to end, I prayed

For a vicious murder of crows

To peck my vocal cords out

And rip out the eyes from my head,

For they are not mine anyway.

I screamed for them to end it all for me ,

To take me with them as they fly

And spread my mangled body around

Until no piece is left to abuse

But they left, like I was nothing,

Leaving me bloody and severed

In a garden filled with white roses,

So clean and so pure that it made me

Feel filthy and completely used up -

Too used up to ever be touched again,

Too damaged to ever love again and

Too broken to matter.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Ava Myers

I write because my pens give me no other choice.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ava Myers Written by Ava Myers

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.